For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

LS Polls: TMC's Yusuf Pathan Holds Road Show In West Bengal's Baharampur

06:33 PM May 09, 2024 IST | NEWS Desk
ls polls  tmc s yusuf pathan holds road show in west bengal s baharampur
LS Polls: TMC's Yusuf Pathan Holds Road Show In West Bengal's Baharampur

Murshidabad (West Bengal) [India]: TMC candidate from Baharampur Lok Sabha constituency, Yusuf Pathan, along with his brother, former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan, held a roadshow in Baharampur on Thursday.

During the roadshow, Yusuf Pathan and his brother Irfan Pathan waved at people from an open-roofed vehicle driving down the road.

The Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Trinamool Congress (TMC) are the main parties that are in fierce contest in Baharampur which will witness voting on May 13.

Yusuf Pathan will contest against Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, president of the West Bengal unit of Congress, and the BJP's candidate, Dr Nirmal Kumar Saha.

West Bengal Congress President Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury is the current sitting Member of Parliament from Baharampur. Chowdhury has been a strong and influential leader in Baharampur, having secured victory for the Congress party in three consecutive terms from 2009 to 2019.

Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress, which has been in power in Bengal since 2011, has not yet won the seat.

Polling in Baharampur Lok Sabha constituency will be held on May 13 in Phase 4.

West Bengal, which sends 42 MPs, to Parliament, is voting in all seven phases. Polling for six Lok Sabha seats in Bengal was held across the first three phases on April 19, April 26 and May 7.

Polling for the remaining parliamentary seats will be held on May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1. The counting of votes has been scheduled for June 4.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the TMC won 34 seats in the state, while the BJP had to settle for 2 seats. The CPI (M) won 2 seats, while the Congress bagged 4.

However, the BJP came up with a much-improved showing in the 2019 polls, winning 18 seats against the TMC's 22. The Congress's tally dropped to just 2 seats, while the Left scored a blank.

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven phases, running from April 19 to June 1.

Tags :