For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Lok Sabha Elections: Samajwadi Party Fields Contestants From Agra And Meerut

08:36 AM Apr 02, 2024 IST | NEWS Desk
lok sabha elections  samajwadi party fields contestants from agra and meerut
Lok Sabha Elections: Samajwadi Party Fields Contestants From Agra And Meerut

New Delhi [India]: Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections in the country, the Samajwadi Party (SP) has announced its candidate list for Agra and Meerut.

According to the list, SP has fielded Atul Pradhan from Meerut and Suresh Chandra Kadam has been made the candidate from Agra.

Suresh Chandra Kadam is currently serving as Sardhana MLA.

After getting the ticket, Atul Pradhan wrote on social media platform X, "I thank Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, who gave me an opportunity to raise the voice and serve the great people of Meerut! Together, we will continuously fight for the rights and justice of the poor, youth and farmers!"

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party's nominee from Meerut for the Lok Sabha elections, Arun Govil, said on Monday that the party will take a call regarding the nomination process that will take place on Tuesday.

Arun Govil, who was among the 111 people named in the BJP's fifth list of candidates, replaced three-time MP Rajendra Agarwal, who has been holding the Meerut seat since 2004.

On Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi kick-started the BJP's election campaign in Uttar Pradesh from Meerut.

Notably, the Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases beginning April 19.
Uttar Pradesh, which sends the maximum number of MPs, 80, to Parliament, will vote in all seven phases.

Voting for phases one and two will be held on April 19 and April 26. Next, the state will once again poll in phases three and four on May 7 and May 13.
The Uttar Pradesh electorate will also vote in phases five, six and seven on May 20, May 23 and June 1, respectively.

Polling in Meerut will take place on April 26 during the second phase.
The votes will be counted on June 4.

Tags :