For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Former Shiromani Akali Dal MLA Pawan Kumar Tinu Joins AAP

07:46 PM Apr 14, 2024 IST | 8PM News Desk
former shiromani akali dal mla pawan kumar tinu joins aap
Former Shiromani Akali Dal MLA Pawan Kumar Tinu joins AAP

Amritsar : Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, former Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Pawan Kumar Tinu joined the Aam Aadmi Party on Sunday.

Pawan Kumar Tinu, a former two-time MLA representing Punjab's Adampur constituency, left the Shiromani Akali Dal. Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann welcomed Tinu into the party fold.

Tinu was elected MLA from the Adampur assembly constituency in Jalandhar district in 2012 and 2017. He lost the 2022 assembly polls to Congress nominee Sukhwinder Kotli.

There are 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab with four seats reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, the Congress-led UPA alliance clinched 8 seats, while the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) managed to secure four. The AAP, which was contesting for the first time in the state won one seat.

Lok Sabha elections in 13 parliamentary seats in Punjab will take place on June 1.

Tags :